8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Take-up reel problem

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Take-up reel problem
Richard Ford
Junior

- posted January 22, 2008 10:37 AM      Profile for Richard Ford   Email Richard Ford   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hey everyone
The other day found a bell & Howell 8mm/super 8 456 autoload projector at my grandmother's house, along with some films.
When i load the film, it plays fine. But when the take up reel picks up all it's slack, it tightens the film too much and it stops feeding, resulting in a burnt frame [Frown]
The instruction manual specifies to use only the take-up reel supplied with the projector, and that's what I did (though the reel i found in the case looks different than the one in the manual)
Most of the films i have are on 3" spools
I'm totally new to this, so any insight would be appreciated
-thanks

|  IP: Logged

Richard Ford
Junior

- posted January 22, 2008 06:11 PM      Profile for Richard Ford   Email Richard Ford   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Is the take-up reel drive mechanism supposed to have a little slippage, like the front? mine doesn't.
Could it just be that i have the wrong size reel?

Steve Klare
Film Guy

- posted January 22, 2008 06:54 PM      Profile for Steve Klare   Email Steve Klare   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello Richard,

Welcome aboard!

To me it sounds like your supply reel is actually dragging, when you are in "Forward", does it turn freely?

--------------------
All I ask is a wide screen and a projector to light her by...

Richard Ford
Junior

- posted January 22, 2008 07:00 PM      Profile for Richard Ford   Email Richard Ford   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Supply reel turns very freely, and the pick-up reel does not
edit: