8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Much needed advice for a newbie!

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Much needed advice for a newbie!
Eugene Perepletchikov
Junior

- posted January 22, 2008 06:41 PM      Profile for Eugene Perepletchikov   Author's Homepage   Email Eugene Perepletchikov   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi all

I am a multimedia designer from Melbourne, with a strong passion for cinematography and experimental art, but have so far only worked in the digital realm.

I am looking to purchase an 8mm camera for future experimental works and possibly even music videos (if style is applicable). I would be looking to get the film scanned and converted into an uncompressed digital file so I could play with it from there.

I have a decent knowledge of manual still photography/optics etc but no experience with film for motion work. I need General advice of what camera gear would be suitable to my needs, and what cameras are rated as the best. I would definately be looking for variable frame rates, and if possible a removable lens, so I could maybe purchase some primes or macro lenses in the future.

Here is a camera that I found on eBay, looks good to me but I wanted some knowledgable opinions on this: http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300191022279&_trksid=p3907.m32&_trkparms=tab%3DWatching

I am looking to make a purchase soon, so your advice would be much appreciated.

Many thanks
Eugene

|  IP: Logged

Osi Osgood
Film God

- posted January 22, 2008 07:28 PM      Profile for Osi Osgood   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Honestly, Eugene, you can do a lot better than that camera if you want to shoot film. If his description is accurate, it might be rather hard even finding 8mm (standard 8) film. I'm not even sure if it is made anymore.