8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » 1959 Bolex B-8SL 8mm Camera

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: 1959 Bolex B-8SL 8mm Camera
Vincent Aleister Portier
Junior

- posted May 30, 2008 03:51 AM      Profile for Vincent Aleister Portier   Author's Homepage   Email Vincent Aleister Portier   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
First off, I am new at understanding 8mm cameras and filmmaking. I recently purchased and received an 8mm Bolex B-8SL film camera---the camera itself is in wonderful working condition, but I had a few questions about understanding how to measure the distance of an object to set your diaphragm.

No manual was included with this purchase, nor have I inserted any film yet. A cartridge of Kodachrome II 25 ft. Daylight film was included. It reads "Process before May '73---so obviously it is not good anymore, but perhaps I could use it as a test cartridge?

I have found an online manual to the similar Bolex B8 and I have been reading about the lenses and the settings that you will need to adjust the diaphragm to, zoom lens depending on the distance of the object, etcetera. But I do not have the information regarding this, so I am oblivious as to where to start.

Furthermore, I still have a few questions:

1.) Would it be knowledgeable to purchase a photoelectric exposure meter?
2.) What do the pins that I see in the viewfinder help identify?
3.) What is the knob beside the viewfinder that I can pull out and turn? It moves the red pin inside of the viewfinder.
----It reads 4, 7, 10 (with several black arrows and one red)?

4.) What does the chart at the bottom of my camera help identify?
----It reads ASA: 40, 32, 25, 20, etcetera, <=f: 12.5 - 36: 10, 9, 8, 7, etcetera, and °DIN: 17, 16, 15, 14, etcetera.

and lastly