8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Suggestions for a low-cost Super 8 Projector

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Suggestions for a low-cost Super 8 Projector
Brad Anesi
Junior

- posted April 15, 2009 10:28 AM      Profile for Brad Anesi   Author's Homepage   Email Brad Anesi   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If you can't tell from my subject heading, yes, I'm a newbie here. [Big Grin] I've just been given a bunch of Super 8 movies from my high school football days, plus there's a few random movie reels around the house from the 60's. I mostly intend to move them to digital format - considered just sending them out, but I'd like to figure out what I have here first and at least organize them accordingly.

So I'm looking to pick up a projector - likely on eBay or Craigslist - and I'm sorta lost. I've done some reading here and see Elmo and Eumig highly recommended, but I really don't want to spend that kind of cash. I'm looking for something in the sub $50 range.

Any general and/or specific recommendations appreciated, either of brands/models to avoid/purchase as well as features I'd need.

One thing I've learned to check for is bulb replacement cost. Even though I'd ask if the bulb works, we all know it could be 10 minutes away from failure. I was considering a Bell & Howell 466 ZB until I saw the DLH bulb cost was $75!

I see that some of you indicate avoiding the dual format projectors, but I know there's at least one film I have that is 8mm rather than Super 8. I could always send just that one out for transfer, if you really feel strongly that I should stick with a dedicated Super 8 machine.

None of the films I have include audio. It seems then that I should avoid projectors that include this capability, yes? I read something about it being detrimental to the transfer process.