8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Help, new to this, have a B&H Filmo 400

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Help, new to this, have a B&H Filmo 400
Eric W. Cook
Junior

- posted September 05, 2010 10:06 AM      Profile for Eric W. Cook   Author's Homepage   Email Eric W. Cook   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi to all! I'm very new to the world of real film and I'm writing today, mainly because my wife and I inherited a Bell & Howell Filmo-Master 400 from 1948 with a few family films.

So I hope it's OK, but I have a couple of questions about this art form:

1. I've tried to learn from this and some other sites: I gather we have a regular, soundless, projector made for 8 mm films. Beside following the original instructions that we have with the projector, any advice before I plug it in and try to see if it works - it all looks brand new (my wife's grandfather was an engineer and kept everything immaculate, - and my wife remembers it being used about 15 years ago), but I don't want to damage anything through ignorance or anything that may have come from it's just sitting in a closet for 15 years. There is a little brush that seems to be for dusting the gate, lens, etc., do we need any other lens cleaning cloth, and the original can of oil is empty - is 3 in 1, or Singer sewing machine oil ok to use on this machine?

2. Should we use some sort of cleaning agent on the old films we have, one is dated 1949, before we run them in the projector. One film had a rubber band around it, should we cut away the white blank film where this was to prevent an debris from entering the projector? If we use one of the cleaning products mentioned in other posts - how do I apply it without some sort of special machine to the film.