8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Diagnosing sound problems in projectors

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Diagnosing sound problems in projectors
Paul Brandes
Film Handler

- posted November 05, 2011 09:31 PM      Profile for Paul Brandes   Email Paul Brandes   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I would be interested if any of the knowledgable people on this site could offer any suggestions about where to start diagnosing a projector that wont play sound. I have a Bell and Howell,DCR Filmosonic sound projector that has no sound output. I have put a sound film through it, picture is fine but no sound. I just wanted to get an idea of where to start as I have no real technical knowledge about this. Also, I havent been able to find a technician who caters to this type of repair. I would be grateful for any help.
Thank you

Regards

Paul

|  IP: Logged

William Mouroukas
Film Handler

- posted November 05, 2011 09:43 PM      Profile for William Mouroukas     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I take that you've checked the basics such as speaker connections, cleaned the audio head, turned the volume Nob several times to clean the pot contacts.
You could contact Frank who I understand services some makes and is based in Queensland:
dogtor@projectorheaven.com.au

Paul Brandes
Film Handler

- posted November 05, 2011 10:38 PM      Profile for Paul Brandes   Email Paul Brandes   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thanks William,
Yes I have checked all those things.I was hoping to find someone closer to me in the event that something can be done to fix the problem.

Steve Klare
Film Guy

- posted November 05, 2011 11:23 PM      Profile for Steve Klare   Email Steve Klare   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post