8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Sankyo 700

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Sankyo 700
Tony Mazzucco
Junior

- posted December 04, 2011 08:24 AM      Profile for Tony Mazzucco   Email Tony Mazzucco   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello, I am new to this post.
I picked up a Sankyo sound 700 for transfer of my old 8mm films, which slows down after starting, and sometimes doesnt move at all.
On closer inspection the motor belt is slipping.
Q. Is this usually a stretched belt condition or will a good gear cleaning relube, fix it? I can order a new set of belts but wondered if this condition is due to old lube?
Also the takeup reel clip is not holding the reel, how are these
removed from the arms? Are they replaceable? I use tape to hold it on right now.

Thanks
Tony

|  IP: Logged

Barry Fritz
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted December 08, 2011 10:42 AM      Profile for Barry Fritz   Email Barry Fritz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
My guess would be the belt. Remove the back and run the machine. You should be able to tell if the belt is slipping by watching it and the motor pulley. That machine is not so old that I would suspect lube problems. It doesn't require lube by the end user and is not packed with grease as older machines were.

Tony Mazzucco
Junior

- posted December 09, 2011 10:38 AM      Profile for Tony Mazzucco   Email Tony Mazzucco   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thanks Barry,
Think I will order a belt set.
Another problem is that the film wraps aroungd the first loading sprocket on loading. Any adjustments for this? Workaround is to load manually...

Barry Fritz
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted December 09, 2011 04:47 PM      Profile for Barry Fritz   Email Barry Fritz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post