8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Screen Fabric

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Screen Fabric
Roger Shunk
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted December 06, 2011 11:06 AM      Profile for Roger Shunk   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello,
I'm new to this and wanted to ask what's the best Screen Fabric to select to project old B&W Super 8mm Films. Matte White or Glass Beaded? I want to make sure I order the right screen for the right films.

Thank you,
Roger

|  IP: Logged

Steve Klare
Film Guy

- posted December 06, 2011 12:01 PM      Profile for Steve Klare   Email Steve Klare   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It's one of those "It depends" kinds of things. A beaded screen gives a much brighter picture than a matte one, but only over a narrow angle of viewing. As the angle the viewer sees the picture from gets larger, the brightness quickly drops off until a matte screen becomes brighter.

If you projected in a narrow room and the screen filled the entire short wall, a beaded screen would be better in terms of brightness because the viewers would be restricted to sitting in front of it. My screen sits on the wide wall of a wide room, so most of my viewers are not close to the axis of projection. I chose matte.

Matte screens are easier to clean than beaded. The fact that when I bought it I had a 3 year old in the house meant I needed to guard against the possibility of chocolate handprints and maybe even crayons. This was a factor too.

I don't know how it happens, since I've never seen it in progress, but once or twice a year a bug gets squished inside when I roll it up. A couple of spritzes of windex and a paper towel sets things right again. (I'm still glad I chose the matte.)

Basically, when in doubt: matte it.

--------------------