8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Meet the Newbie

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Meet the Newbie
Adam McCreath
Film Handler

- posted January 22, 2013 11:12 AM      Profile for Adam McCreath     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Greetings everyone; just registered today and looking forward to learning a lot from everyones experience. I am a film-addict and collector (or OCD as my wife might say); I have built a fairly large collection of films and I love "obsolete" technologies (hope that wasn't the eqiuivalent of swearing on the forum lol). My colelction includes contemporary formats of course (dvd/blu-ray), but I also collect ced videodiscs and betamax.

I am new to the wonderful world of 8mm/Super-8/16mm formats. I have just begun acquiring and collecting film and projectors. All seem to be very rare in my local market and I am finding a lot of non-functional pieces. So far my collection includes:

1. Sankyo Dualux 2000H - not working at the moment, wating on drive belt

2. B&H 1592 - working but needs some tweeking; belt slips, no sound, timing may be off

3. B&H 3575 - fully functional and working great!!!!!

I should be picking up a Berkley dual 8 today after work so I'm hoping for the best on that one lol. I know nothing of this technology and I am struggling to get things running. So that's who I am and what I'm going to be asking about in the comming weeks lol.

Thanks & Cheers!

|  IP: Logged

Joe Caruso
Film God

- posted January 22, 2013 11:18 AM      Profile for Joe Caruso     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Welcome, Adam - Ask away - We have a wide selection of professionals here, who will fulfill your knowledge quests - Mine happens to be the Selected Short Subject, so please call on 'Shorty' anytime - Cheers

Vidar Olavesen
Film God