8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Determining polyester or acetate stock

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Determining polyester or acetate stock
Jim Hepler
Junior

- posted February 27, 2013 08:05 PM      Profile for Jim Hepler   Email Jim Hepler   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I was just wondering if there's a quick way to determine if a super 8 print is on acetate or polyester? I just got the 800' Universal 8 version of Slap Shot, and it has a chemically, possibly vinegary smell. But, it also has a sticker saying it was cleaned, so I thought maybe it'd been chemically cleaned. If this was a polyester print, I figure I'd know for certain it was not vinegar, and just cleaning agents I'm smelling.

Any thoughts guys? Thanks!

Also, this is my first post! Hi everyone! I do intend to post more, as I'm just getting into film collecting. It's an addicting hobby already. [Big Grin]

|  IP: Logged

Adrian Winchester
Film God

- posted February 27, 2013 08:32 PM      Profile for Adrian Winchester     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Welcome to the Forum. I have never heard of a polyester Universal 8 print. But apart from it being a bit thinner, you can easily check by tearing off a frame or two from the start or end - if it breaks easily, it's acetate. I have never heard of a U8 release with VS - I think the smell is probably the cleaning but I can't be certain.

--------------------
Adrian Winchester

Jake Mayes
Expert Film Handler

- posted February 27, 2013 08:47 PM      Profile for Jake Mayes   Email Jake Mayes   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Try tearing a tiny piece, if you find it difficult or it stretches, it is polyester. or place it between two polarisers: http://www.paulivester.com/films/filmstock/guide.htm