8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » State of the Hobby?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: State of the Hobby?
Paul Zenisek
Junior

- posted June 23, 2014 03:52 PM      Profile for Paul Zenisek   Author's Homepage   Email Paul Zenisek   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi all, I'm still pretty new at the hobby, but have had decent luck finding low price titles on ebay. Not too much luck finding films in "the wild" at garage and estate sales, but am able to find projectors sometimes that way. It seems ebay, or trading on this forum seems to be the biggest spot for a lot of you to add to your collections.
I had my own garage sale, and sold a couple digests to random people who either bought titles like the Star Wars digest or some Batman serials from a collector standpoint, and only one person who had a projector at home who had never ran film through it, so they bought a small Disney film to test through it. I was hoping to drum up more attention by standing there and talking to people about it, but not many were interested.
I guess this isn't really a question post, more of a spot I'd love to hear people's take on the state of collecting at the moment.

|  IP: Logged

Steve Klare
Film Guy

- posted June 23, 2014 05:38 PM      Profile for Steve Klare   Email Steve Klare   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If you know where to look, it's almost TOO easy to find films!

There were four in the mail from Paul Foster when I got home today. It was about 6 last month at CineSea.

Back when I was a teenager when Super-8 was still commercially common this may have been one or two every couple of months.