8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » hello from lost newbie

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: hello from lost newbie
Peter Sandford
Junior

- posted June 24, 2014 10:11 AM      Profile for Peter Sandford   Email Peter Sandford   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Sorry if this is in the wrong place.

As the title says I'm a newbie and have no experience with cine projectors except from when I was a young child (35 years ago) I can remember my mother setting up the projector and setting up the screen and putting on woody wood pecker for my sister and myself.

So I've always fancied buying one and a few days ago I decided to bite the bullet and finally get one. So I bought a
SUPERB Cinerex SU200 Super 8mm and I've been searching for films and this is where I'm finding myself getting a bit lost with all the different types as in features, mini features, digest and abridgement and lot's of videos being 17minutes long.

So taking a stab in the dark i'm guessing:

feature = the full film.
Mini feature = is a shorten version.
digest = section's of film.
abridgement = is a shorten version.

Or I'm I completely wrong? if not could anyone tell me what the difference is between them?

|  IP: Logged

Andrew Woodcock
Film God

- posted June 24, 2014 10:40 AM      Profile for Andrew Woodcock         Edit/Delete Post 
First of all Peter, Welcome!

You will find out anything you need to know on here if it is film/ cine related. There are lots of really knowledgeable helpful people on here who will be more than willing to answer any questions that you put to them.

First of all, let me start by saying for the most part, calling films or cine related items video is like blaspheming in church on here! ha ha.
Video came much later in the evolution chain.