8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Elmo ST 1200 HD M Belts (Page 1)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!  
This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Elmo ST 1200 HD M Belts
Tom Dee
Film Handler

- posted November 29, 2014 09:38 PM      Profile for Tom Dee   Email Tom Dee   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have just recently aquired a Elmo ST 1200 , when I opened the back up I noticed that there was like a black licorice looking thing in there which I assumed were the belts. I see the belts on E-Bay for different prices. My question is... are there any brands better than others to use, how many belts should be replaced, I see packs of 2, 3 and 4 belts. And I have never done this before...is it an easy job? what do I need to watch out for etc. Any help on the matter would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

|  IP: Logged

Steve Klare
Film Guy

- posted November 30, 2014 06:37 AM      Profile for Steve Klare   Email Steve Klare   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Tom,

You probably don't have a good belt in the machine anymore, so they'll all need to be replaced with one being optional.

My ST-1200HD showed up with a brand new set of belts, so I haven't had to change them (yet). From what I've heard the hardest one to change is the small one that drives the footage counter. Fortunately as long as you don't need it, you can skip this one.

I've always had good results with this E-bay seller:

isellprojectorbelts

He's not the cheapest, but there are a lot of cases where the belt needs to have a square cross section and the cheaper ones will come as round belts (large O-rings) and often these don't work as well or as long.

He also has other listings where he sells the belts individually or in smaller sets. He's pretty good at answering questions as well.