8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Newbie

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Newbie
Paul Moriarty
Junior

- posted December 14, 2014 01:47 PM      Profile for Paul Moriarty   Email Paul Moriarty   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello everyone, at first i just wanted to transfer some of my dads old cine to digital but now am finding myself hooked in the curious world of cine.
As a newbie i have lots of questions and am hoping someone can steer me in the right direction. Apologies if you are having to answer questions you have answered many times before.
I have two vintage projectors both standard eights. My dad's old Sekonic and a Paillard Bolex 18-5 i bought for just over a tenet on ebay. Though The Sekonic is the only one with variable speed The bolex can be filmed at 5fps as i can increase the speed of the video transfer in iMovie on my Mac. At least i think i can (not done it yet). Would the be best way of transferring the video? Like many Bolexs bought on ebay it does not have a mains lead. I have seen one at Maplins (U.S style plug) not sure it will fit the chassis opening. Any thoughts?
I would also like to do some maintenance on the Bolex it has one belt that feels somewhat loose. I would like to know about possibly greasing the internal wheels etc…..and general maintenance.
Is there any enthusiasts who live nearby to me (i live in East Sussex just north of Hastings) ?

|  IP: Logged

Timothy Duncan
Expert Film Handler

- posted December 14, 2014 02:05 PM      Profile for Timothy Duncan   Email Timothy Duncan   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post