8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Writing asking for help identifying movie camera

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Writing asking for help identifying movie camera
Julie Checkoway
Junior

- posted March 02, 2015 08:04 PM      Profile for Julie Checkoway   Author's Homepage   Email Julie Checkoway   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm a writer on deadline for a book. I am trying to identify a movie camera that was used by one of the individuals about whom I am writing. I'm attaching a photo. The man on the right is holding the camera. His wife is holding the bag for it, I believe. My guess is that it's a kodak cine, but what model? Then my question is: how did it work? As a writer, I want to be able to give the reader a feel for what it was like to have that in hand and operate while trying to do something else at the same time (watch a swim meet). Thanks! Julie Checkoway

-

--------------------
Julie Checkoway
writer

|  IP: Logged

Clay Smith
Expert Film Handler

- posted March 02, 2015 08:51 PM      Profile for Clay Smith   Email Clay Smith   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Julie, welcome to the forum.
I think that camera is a 1930's Kodak Model K 16mm movie camera. I have not used one but I'm guessing it was key wound as opposed to battery operated. Someone with more experience with them will hopefully respond. Good luck - Clay i

Barry Fritz
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted March 02, 2015 09:07 PM      Profile for Barry Fritz   Email Barry Fritz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I believe it is a Kodak model M. It was operated by winding it up by turning a crank handle on the side. Compared to battery powered camars of today, it was a pain due to the need to stop filming to wind it every so often.

Julie Checkoway
Junior