8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » ELMO GP Dual 8 Jumpy Image

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: ELMO GP Dual 8 Jumpy Image
Don Elsass
Junior

- posted October 01, 2015 03:47 PM      Profile for Don Elsass   Email Don Elsass   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I can't eliminate the image jumping up and down and it appears to be projecting the image between frames. Is there any other adjustment for this besides the framing lever? Or is there an adjustment for the framing lever? If I run it in reverse, the image stops jumping and it is centered. Could the noisy bearing in my other post be causing this too? I'm new to 8mm and it is very CHALLENGING!

|  IP: Logged

Steve Klare
Film Guy

- posted October 01, 2015 04:17 PM      Profile for Steve Klare   Email Steve Klare   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
You should have a loop of film above and below the gate so the film is free to bounce under the action of the claw without being pulled taut.

If you look in and don't see (especially) the one under the gate, there should be a lever to kick the film out into a loop. In the Elmos I know, it starts with a pusher which sits right where the film leaves the gate and it pivots on a screw maybe an inch and a half underneath. It will probably be black plastic and meet up with a lever which sits in the side cover when it closes.

--------------------
All I ask is a wide screen and a projector to light her by...

Don Elsass
Junior

- posted October 01, 2015 04:40 PM      Profile for Don Elsass   Email Don Elsass   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Did you see the edit to my post? The image is normal when run in reverse which doesn't use the reel with the bad bearing.

Janice Glesser
Film Goddess