8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Long term Filmguard on 8mm

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Long term Filmguard on 8mm
Nate Gatfield
Junior

- posted October 23, 2015 02:07 AM      Profile for Nate Gatfield   Email Nate Gatfield   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I am new to film. I have been reading that Filmguard is really good for cleaning and lubing film, but I have a concern. I can't remember where, but someone claimed that Filmguard applied to 8mm films that are sealed will soften and destroy the emulsion after about 10 years because it doesn't dry. I am wondering if anyone can shed light on whether that is true is some instances. I am going to try to digital my grandma's old 8mm not (super 8) films. Until now they haven't been viewed for 35 years, so after I am done, they probably will go back in storage indefinitely. These are only "sealed" in cardboard and plastic film containers so Filmguard probably can evaporate. I just don't want to accidentally destroy them. Sorry, I can't remember who or where someone claimed that, it was under some other random site's forum.

|  IP: Logged

Andrew Woodcock
Film God

- posted October 23, 2015 04:26 AM      Profile for Andrew Woodcock         Edit/Delete Post 
From the people I know who have been using Filmguard for over a decade and keep their films inside a cardboard box (unsealed) or a film cannister, I haven't heard any complaints so far.

--------------------
"C'mon Baggy..Get with the beat"

Douglas Meltzer

- posted October 23, 2015 08:59 AM      Profile for Douglas Meltzer   Email Douglas Meltzer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Nate,

No. That would be a complete falsehood.