8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Looking for 8mm Projector for transfers

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Looking for 8mm Projector for transfers
Bill Vendasi
Film Handler

- posted October 23, 2015 05:53 PM      Profile for Bill Vendasi   Email Bill Vendasi   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Folks,

I'm still a newbie at this, plus it's been a good while since I've been here so I'm basically back to square one.

I need some advice on buying a quality Dual 8 (8mm/Super 8) projector with variable speed.

I will use this mostly for transfers.

Janice G. and Barry F. gave me some good info once before and I've finally saved a little cash for this.

I also remember someone mentioning a particular model that uses a pinch roller instead of sprockets, which could be a good idea since my films are so old.

I've looked in the 'For Sale' area but as I said, I don't really know what I'm doing.

Thanks all.

Bill

|  IP: Logged

Barry Fritz
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted October 23, 2015 07:48 PM      Profile for Barry Fritz   Email Barry Fritz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Bill:
I don't recall advising you, but if I did, I likely recommended a Sankyo Dualux 2000H. It will do 8mm and Super8 with the throw of a switch. It has a very bright, readily available halogen lamp and high quality lens. It has variable speed via a rheostat. And lastly, it has pinch rollers rather than sprockets with teeth. I believe Janice has at least one of these projectors and speaks highly of them also.

Bill Vendasi
Film Handler

- posted October 23, 2015 08:16 PM      Profile for Bill Vendasi   Email Bill Vendasi   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thanks, Barry,

I'm looking at one of those on eBay for $200.

Looks pretty good and it appears the lamp is only around $20: