8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Holiday Greetings 2017

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Holiday Greetings 2017
Chip Gelmini
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted December 22, 2016 07:25 PM      Profile for Chip Gelmini     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
This has a lot to do with 8mm please allow the posting to this area.

Begin:

I have been collecting super 8 for many years. Having shown an interest in projectors by age 3, Dad said when he shot home movies and we gathered to watch them, I watched the movie projector more than the films. Today that very projector and the films remain my property.

I recently completed a major project in my screening room. I have hand checked every single reel of film that I own. It breaks down like this:

Over 400 reels
1200 and 800 footers
More than half are magnetic
35 are cinemascope
42 are stereo
12 are over 3 hours in running time

During this inspection, I changed many leaders. In fact, I used almost 1,000 feet of Kodak white leader, recently purchased from Urbanski film, and two rolls of Ciro Guillotine splicing tape. The project was completed a few days ago. And near the finish, it got me thinking.

I believe I have reached the point that I am truly happy with the work that I have accomplished that gave me this wonderful hobby. And while I would prefer to purchase new features on super 8 instead of DVD – had Derann not shut down – the 234 films, the endless amount of trailers and cartoons – WOW how priceless can it be?

And then there is my collection of equipment.

5 GS 1200 machines: 1 pair of version 1; and 1 pair of version 2; and I am hunting to complete a pair of version 3.

6 Elmo ST 1200 machines: 1 pair of single track D with optical; 1 pair of HD units magnetic only; and 1 pair of HD units with optical.