8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Sankyo Super 8 Sound 500 Projector/ Intro

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Sankyo Super 8 Sound 500 Projector/ Intro
Mathis Stone
Junior

- posted April 22, 2017 01:01 AM      Profile for Mathis Stone   Email Mathis Stone   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello everybody! I am new to Super 8 and have been looking for a projector for a long time to project my films that I shoot and will soon be developing. I finally found a Sankyo Super 8 Sound 500 projector yesturday and it is in good shape and works very well for its age, except the bulb is burned out (a replacement is on the way) and a problem it has with going in reverse. For some reason when I have it on revers and it gets near the beginning of the film, it slows down, sometimes to a stop. If I switch it to forward it works fine, and switch it back ,it goes normal for a second and then goes back to moving very slow.
Any ideas as to why it does this and how I could potentially fix this? Thank you.

|  IP: Logged

Maurice Leakey
Film God

- posted April 22, 2017 02:31 AM      Profile for Maurice Leakey   Email Maurice Leakey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Mathis
When you say about going in reverse, do you mean rewinding the film "over the top"?
The problem could be a rubber belt expanded over the years, or just left in one position which could give it a slight egg shape.
Take the back off and check the belts to see they appear to give a good tension.

--------------------
Maurice

Mathis Stone
Junior

- posted April 22, 2017 08:22 AM      Profile for Mathis Stone   Email Mathis Stone   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
No I mean when I switch the projector to showing in reverse. It has both forward and reverse functions, and the reverse is helpful mainly just to put the film back on the reel.