8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Bell and Howell 151A Projector

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Bell and Howell 151A Projector
Tracy LaVere
Junior

- posted June 09, 2019 12:55 AM      Profile for Tracy LaVere   Email Tracy LaVere   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I am a retired electronic tech and an antique radio collector/restorer. I recently found some 8mm film that I had forgotten I had taken of my kids back in the early eighties when they were little and wanted to transfer them to digital media so the kids could have a copy. I found the projector I have (B&H 466A) is in need of repair so I set about the task of putting it in working order. Although the DLH lamp in mine is still good, I was shocked at the cost of a replacement, considering their short lifespan. Along with this I found I had a cracked plastic spur gear in the take-up reel linkage that I was having no luck locating a replacement for. I started to consider the idea of getting another projector.

Over the weekend, and being new to this hobby, I found a B&H 151A projector at a garage sale. This unit is in like new condition, with the original user manual and the original sales receipt (dated 1950). The unit came in the oem wooden case with the little oil can and brush, empty reel, power cord, etc. The projector looks like it was just purchased. I was jazzed.

I brought it home, took it out of the case and gave it a good inspection. The speed selector knob was not free to turn as I believe it should be, so I didn't force it. But the lamp filament was intact and the other controls seem to work well for a unit that has probably been in someone's garage for over 60 years.