8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm equipment for sale/trade   » newbie to a Eumig Mark 8 Projector

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: newbie to a Eumig Mark 8 Projector
Maia Conran
Junior

- posted August 31, 2012 09:42 AM      Profile for Maia Conran   Author's Homepage   Email Maia Conran       Edit/Delete Post 
Just realised that this is in the wrong place!, sorry newbie error! I'll move it to the right place... if I can...

Hi all, I'm about to embark on my first artwork in Super 8! I've acquired a Eumig Mark 8 projector which seems to be misbehaving a little, it doesn't seem to work very well in reverse - especially at 24 frames, it's slightly better but painfully slow at 18 frames. I'm new to super 8 projectors (and to this forum!) and it came without a manual - is it possible that there's something I'm supposed to do that I didn't? Or would anyone have a manual for it I could have?

I see from some of the other topics that Eumig aren't considered the best, but I've also just borrowed a bell & howell autoload which to me seems to be working great, and there's a Sankyo and a Norris on the way (not sure which ones yet). So I'm guessing that I may be around this forum quite a bit for the next couple of months!

Any advice would be much appreciated!
Thanks for reading,

Maia [Smile]

|  IP: Logged

Tony Stucchio
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted August 31, 2012 01:48 PM      Profile for Tony Stucchio     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Welcome Maia.

Ask 10 different people what the best projector is, and you'll get 10 different answers.
[Smile]

In today's world, a projector in great condition that works well and doesn't damage your films should be considered the best. What I find most important (in no particular order) is:
1. Brightest lamp
2. Fastest lens
3. Steady picture
4. Safe film handling