8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm equipment for sale/trade   » WANTED: 8mm Take-Up reel for Kodak Brownie Projector

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: WANTED: 8mm Take-Up reel for Kodak Brownie Projector
Sarah B Passemar
Junior

- posted February 07, 2019 05:04 PM      Profile for Sarah B Passemar   Email Sarah B Passemar   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm new to 8mm film. Found an 8mm projector, and it's so much fun, but I can't find a take-up or take-in reel that fits it! I've bought 2 reels so far, and neither of them fit. Hoping this forum can either help me find one, or can link me to a reel under $10. I'm a noobie!

8mm, not super 8.
200', not 400'.

Here's a picture I found online of what I'm looking for:
 -

Thanks so much!

-Sarah

[ February 25, 2019, 12:16 PM: Message edited by: Sarah B Passemar ]

--------------------
Sarah Bird

|  IP: Logged

Sarah B Passemar
Junior

- posted February 25, 2019 12:17 PM      Profile for Sarah B Passemar   Email Sarah B Passemar   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 

--------------------
Sarah Bird

Steve Klare
Film Guy

- posted February 25, 2019 12:55 PM      Profile for Steve Klare   Email Steve Klare   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Reels are interesting creatures!

-very often they become worth less with a film on them than empty. Empty? They are an entity unto themselves. Full? Now they are just a container.

I paid $75 once for "Grease" on 2 Elmo 800 Foot reels. I'd expect to pay 40 to 50 for the same pair of reels without the film! This doesn't mean though, that if I'd gotten the same film on really skeazy reels the price would have dropped to $25 to $35: it's just the idea that I was buying the film, not the reel.

(Maybe the next time I buy a car, I hope there's a garage around it...)