8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 16mm Forum   » Spools and Splicers

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Spools and Splicers
Robert Pitman
Junior

- posted April 20, 2007 10:51 AM      Profile for Robert Pitman   Email Robert Pitman   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Just got my hands on some spools and cans (Tuscan and Cecolite)
They include:
800 Feet
1200 Feet
1600 Feet

How many spools do you keep as spares?
Is the 1600 Foot reel ample to keep as a take up spool or should I only use a spool relative to the size of the film being shown?
Are they worth selling or is it best to keep hold of them?

I would imagine that I will eventually need a 2200 for larger features.

Also, whats a good budget tape splicer that still has tape available for sale within the UK?

Again, sorry for the amount of questions, but I'm just starting out and really enjoying this new hobby.
Rob

--------------------
Why do transformers hum?
Because they don't know the words.....

|  IP: Logged

Hugh McCullough
Expert Film Handler

- posted April 22, 2007 04:36 PM      Profile for Hugh McCullough   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello Rob.

Welcome to the world of 16mm.

You will soon find out that it is definitely not a hobby. It is a way of life, often frustrated by non-believers like wives, and girlfriends.
These misguided souls will happily let you suffer even though they know that you just have to have the projector bargain you have just found on ebay. They will insist that the money be better spent on things like shoes for the children, or dare I say, a second dress.

Anyway, to be serious.