8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 16mm Forum   » 16mm problem

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: 16mm problem
Nicholas Faust
Junior

- posted November 29, 2013 08:45 AM      Profile for Nicholas Faust   Email Nicholas Faust   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I own a 16mm Bell & Howell 2580A it is a slot load projector. I currently am having the problem of the film getting to tight above the film gate and the film becoming to lose below. After a few seconds of running the film becomes tight against the roller making a horrible noise and shaking the image. I am new to film and at a dead end. Has anyone had this problem or knows what it is.
 -

|  IP: Logged

Paul Mason
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted December 03, 2013 04:23 AM      Profile for Paul Mason     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Nicholas, I'm sure other members with more experience than me will reply in due course. It sounds like the classic "lost top loop" problem to me. While it may be a projector fault it is worth checking the film for sprocket hole tearing as this is a common cause. Clean the gate and film path with a small soft brush to remove dirt and bits of film and try a different film. Watch carefully with the cover door open and switch off immediately if you lose the loop to minimize further film damage. If its a projector fault I would get it professionally repaired or sell for spares rather than risk further damage.

--------------------
Paul.

Maurice Leakey
Film God

- posted December 03, 2013 05:34 AM      Profile for Maurice Leakey   Email Maurice Leakey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If the film has damage to its perforations the claws will not pull through the gate and there will be a problem with the loops, however, contrary to what Paul has said, the top loop will get larger and the bottom loop smaller.