8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 16mm Forum   » Excess hum from Kodak Pageant Speaker

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Excess hum from Kodak Pageant Speaker
Douglas Warren
Master Film Handler

- posted September 13, 2015 01:11 PM      Profile for Douglas Warren     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I recently picked up a Kodak 8K5 Pageant projector.Everything seems to work fine on it (I'm new to 16 mm)but there seems to be excessive hum from the speaker.While a film is running it really isn't noticeable,but is really evident while in stand-by mode.Any thoughts on this from the more experienced collectors?

--------------------
Turn out the lights,the movie is starting!

|  IP: Logged

Steve Klare
Film Guy

- posted September 13, 2015 01:46 PM      Profile for Steve Klare   Email Steve Klare   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If this was a Super-8 machine part of the problem could be pickup on the magnetic sound head, what's nice here is there is none.

My best guess is the filter capacitors in your sound circuits are dried up and aren't smoothing the power supply ripple as much as they should. You can't really blame them: they are supposed to be replaced after about 10 years and you are a couple of decades over that. (They stay healthy longer of you use them regularly, less in dead storage.)

--------------------
All I ask is a wide screen and a projector to light her by...

Douglas Warren
Master Film Handler

- posted September 13, 2015 05:49 PM      Profile for Douglas Warren     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Steve,
Thank you for the reply,as I wondered if the problem might be clapped out capacitors.Considering how old (late 50's vintage) this projector is,it's not surprising. I guess I have a soft spot for these old Kodak projectors. [Smile]

--------------------

Steve Klare
Film Guy