8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 16mm Forum   » New to the hobby- questions about what's out there?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: New to the hobby- questions about what's out there?
Donald Cape Jr.
Junior

- posted December 23, 2017 02:25 PM      Profile for Donald Cape Jr.   Email Donald Cape Jr.   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello,

I'm new to the hobby and am curious about how much 16mm stuff is actually out there. Like TV programs, are there thousands of copies of Andy Griffith Season 3 episode 9 in collections or hundreds or 10-50 or what? And feature movies, are the ones for sale mostly from TV stations and edited and if so how many of each movie are out there in circulation or collections. As an example I saw 2 copies of White Christmas on Ebay and they went for over 300 dollars. How many copies of White Christmas may actually be in existence? Hundreds? Just curious, as the hobby has me looking for cool movies I saw as a kid. I have a hard time though thinking about parting with 200 plus bucks for a movie.

--------------------
Donald Cape Jr.

|  IP: Logged

Steve Klare
Film Guy

- posted December 23, 2017 03:21 PM      Profile for Steve Klare   Email Steve Klare   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Don,

Welcome to the forum!

Geography is your friend here: twice a year down near Cape May there is a weekend entirely devoted to 8 and 16mm film. You can come see what's available for yourself. (You are a little closer than I am and I haven't missed one in at least 5 years.)