8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 16mm equipment for sale/trade   » New to 16mm

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: New to 16mm
Ted Bennett
Junior

- posted April 20, 2017 03:27 AM      Profile for Ted Bennett   Email Ted Bennett   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I am new to 16mm and would like some help regarding what projector to get. I am a cinema projectionist so I don't mind if they are manual lace up but would prefer a newer autoload.

Can anyone help?

makes and models would be helpful.

Also price range.

|  IP: Logged

Maurice Leakey
Film God

- posted April 20, 2017 04:54 AM      Profile for Maurice Leakey   Email Maurice Leakey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Ted
If you are looking for a later model auto-load I would recommend the Eiki Slimline SNT range. These use easily obtainable projection lamps.
The later Bell & Howell models are very good projectors but have a distressing problem with an internal worm gear which tends to crack over time. Some projectors may be offered for sale fitted with replacement worms.
Fortunately, the Eiki has a metal worm gear and has no such problems.
You may find the video interesting.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kI9Kk-tSa-0

--------------------
Maurice

David Fouracre
Expert Film Handler

- posted April 20, 2017 05:26 AM      Profile for David Fouracre   Email David Fouracre   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello Ted,

The choice of projector, together with price depends to a degree on your own capabilities I believe.
Are you mechanicaly minded. Do you feel happy with doing maintenance on your machine? I ask because you mention you are an ex cinema projectionist. You may well be used to servicing!