8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » General Yak   » General PC help needed

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: General PC help needed
Michael O'Regan
Film God

- posted May 31, 2009 05:36 AM      Profile for Michael O'Regan   Email Michael O'Regan   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
When I try to open files attached to Emails or downloaded from websites I am constantly getting an intensely irritating "windows cannot open this file" message.
This happens with every single file.
Anyone got any idea how I can fix this/what has caused it?
Would really appreciate any help.

-Mike

|  IP: Logged

Martin Jones
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted May 31, 2009 09:00 AM      Profile for Martin Jones     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Michael,
I'm not a computer expert, so I'm not able to enter into an analysis of your problem but that message indicates that the program needed to open the file is for some reason not acessible on your computer.
Beecause you are talking about files downloaded with emails and from websites, would they be all the same type of file...say .PDF files? If all the files are the same type then you need to re-install the program that they need; for example .PDF files need Adobe Acrobat Reader, which practically everyone has installed on their machine, and which is a free download if you need to reinstall. Re-installing the correct program should repair the existing installation if it has become corrupt. Are all the files you are having trouble with the same type?

Depending on your computer literacy and understanding, you can Google .. "windows cannot open this file" for a whole list of possible helpful articles. If everything fails, I usually fall back on asking the 10 year old next door!

Martin

[ May 31, 2009, 11:00 AM: Message edited by: Martin Jones ]

--------------------
Retired TV Service Engineer