8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » General Yak   » Is this the first Amateur one?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Is this the first Amateur one?
Martin Jones
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted October 01, 2009 01:33 PM      Profile for Martin Jones     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
 -

Probably more to the point, what is it? I’ve put this post on here because I mentioned this to Rob Koeling during an email exchange recently and he thought it would be of general interest to the Forum... so, although it reveals my age, here goes..

It’s October 1954, just 55years ago, and I’m an Electrical Engineering student in London with a deep interest in everything cinematic. In a few weeks time our College Annual Ball is to be held and the organizing committee decides that we should make a “Commercial” to advertise it. My part, as College Projectionist is to come up with something different for presentation.. and what better than an idea I had been playing with for nearly a year?

Just under a year ago, November 1953, a new cinematic experience had hit London, but I wasn’t to experience it until about March 1954, when I went to a newly converted cinema in Southampton to see “The Robe”. WOW, I was simply blown away! I’d just turned 17, and I wanted to be part of it. So when the opportunity presented itself in October I dug out my notes and sketches and proceeded to build my very own Anamorphic.