8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » General Yak   » Windows users, watch out for the Cryptovirus.

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Windows users, watch out for the Cryptovirus.
Pete Richards
Master Film Handler

- posted November 05, 2013 09:08 PM      Profile for Pete Richards   Email Pete Richards   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I should preface this with the fact that my day job is as an IT Manager, and that unlike a lot of other virus warnings that are a hoax, I have seen this one first hand.

There is a new variant of an old virus doing the rounds, basically if you are on windows, and run the 'attachment' from your email, it will download a payload and infect your Windows PC. It will then encrypt your data and demand a ransom to receive the decryption key.
It uses 1024bit encryption, so there is no way to decrypt your files without the key.
I personally left Windows behind a few years ago due to the unacceptable amount of virus and malware threats out there, but if you are still on Windows, be extra vigilant with being careful.
In case you think it is a hoax, check it out on Snopes
http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/cryptolocker.asp
and Kaspersky has a detector and advice. There is not an easy way to remove this virus if you have it, and it can infect your backup drive as well if connected.
Be careful out there folks.
If you are on Mac OSX or any version of Linux, this won't affect you.

quote: