8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » General Yak   » New to 8mm!

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: New to 8mm!
Lindsey Bartley
Junior

- posted October 31, 2014 12:15 AM      Profile for Lindsey Bartley   Email Lindsey Bartley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello!
I'm new here and new to 8mm. For 12 years, I worked as a projectionist with 35mm in a small movie theatre. I really miss working with film, so I thought it might be fun to get into 8mm! Any suggestions on what type of projector I should look into or ones I should avoid? I've been perusing ebay and craigslist, but I'm not sure where to start! Any guidance or advice would be wonderful.
Thanks so much!
Lindsey

|  IP: Logged

Dominique De Bast
Film God

- posted October 31, 2014 12:44 AM      Profile for Dominique De Bast   Email Dominique De Bast   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Welcome Lindsey ! Your choice will depend on what kind of film you wish to project. First, are you aware that there are two kind of 8 mm films ? The regular (also called standard) 8 and the super (also called single) 8 ? You cannot run a regular 8 film on a super 8 projector and vice versa but you can get a dual gauge projector. Then, will you project silent or sound films ? Are you ready to start with an expensive projector ? Such considerations would help members of this forum to advise you.

--------------------
Dominique

Clay Smith
Expert Film Handler

- posted October 31, 2014 12:54 AM      Profile for Clay Smith   Email Clay Smith   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Welcome to the forum Lindsey !

Lindsey Bartley
Junior

- posted October 31, 2014 01:49 AM      Profile for Lindsey Bartley   Email Lindsey Bartley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thanks for having me! [Smile]