8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » General Yak   » The Black Stallion Returns.

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: The Black Stallion Returns.
Joe Vannicola
Expert Film Handler

- posted February 23, 2017 11:23 PM      Profile for Joe Vannicola   Email Joe Vannicola   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I was a manager/operator at a second run twin theater(remember twin theaters?) when on a particular Thursday night, the NSS( National Screen Service) driver dropped off a print of The Black Stallion Returns at my theater. I wondered why since that film was not on my weekly film schedule. Now, this was the Thursday before Fathers Day, to which you're probably thinking," What does this have to do with the price of eggs in China?"

I'll explain: on the Saturday before Fathers Day, Rich,head of the mall's maitenence said to me ,"Are you ready for showing the Black Stallion Returns on Fathers Day?" When I asked him what he was talking about, Rich told me that my theater chain had put an ad in the local shoppers paper saying," Treat your Dad to a movie. Free showing of The Black Stallion Returns on Fathers Day at 10:00. Rich also let me know that the district manager told him to tell me not to open the concession stand because we were showing a free movie and nothing more. It would have been nice if the district manager had told me himself on,oh,I don't know, Thursday when I received the film?

Anyhoo, on Fathers Day my audience consisted of about ten people. That was sure worth getting up early in the morning, driving a half hour to work and opening up the theater for ten measly people. And for free to top it off. Just think of what would have happened if I had never been told. Talk about a lack of communication!

[Mad]

--------------------
Joe

|  IP: Logged

Graham Ritchie
Film God