8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Print Reviews   » BLACK CHRISTMAS marketing 2 x400 ft

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: BLACK CHRISTMAS marketing 2 x400 ft
Robert Aragon
Master Film Handler

- posted August 20, 2006 02:12 PM      Profile for Robert Aragon   Email Robert Aragon   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Black Christmas. The title alone conjures weird images, at least in my mind it does. I watched this film in the theatre in 1974, at the tender age of 10. I was a veteran of horror films, surviving the TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE and NIGHT of the LIVING DEAD at the even MORE tender age of 5.
I was reared on the Classic terror tale, but by the late 60's, things had become graphic and gratuitous. So, i was looking for a "modern" interpretation of Fear with class and thought. BLACK CHRISTMAS does capsulate a terror which other "slasher" films prior or since have failed. The reason is simple. The human mind. IT lifts the veil of comfort and reveals subconscious primal fears of doubt and vulnerability.
Our leading lady is Olivia Hussey, and what a lady she is. As one watches the film, the male instinctively would give ones life to defend such feminine beauty and gentility from the hands of ANY killer, let alone the phone crazed "billy".

-

Then we have Margot Kidder. Oh my god! The stereotypical loud mouthed vulgar rude arrogant "liberated" modern american woman of the time. No wonder the Killer let her have it in her sleep. Just to keep her views to herself. He waited too long, for my taste, i would have silenced her foul mouth the moment she opened it. Another of my digressions.

-

The film has some disturbing images and scenes. Violence is essential to the story, and therefore, completely acceptable.