8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Best Prints From The 70's & 80's Who Made Them?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Best Prints From The 70's & 80's Who Made Them?
Dan Lail
Film God

- posted September 13, 2003 12:14 AM      Profile for Dan Lail   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm still pretty new at collecting Super 8 (mostly new, short on pretty). I've bought a few Niles prints, but most of them don't have sharp focus and a few are washed out. Columbia Batman Serials from 1949 are excellent, but the ones from 1943 are not excellent. Are most Viacom prints from airline use? All the Viacoms I have are excellent. I have only one Derann, The Wizard Of Oz, which is excellent. Are Waltons good? How about Red Fox prints? Inquiring mindless collector wants to know. [Roll Eyes] [Roll Eyes]

|  IP: Logged

Mal Brake
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted September 13, 2003 11:14 AM      Profile for Mal Brake     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Walton were pretty much hit and miss with their prints. Some were very good indeed, Tarka the Otter 2 reel was superb. Some of their feature releases however left something to be desired. It was only late on that Walton used the balance stripe, some collectors complained about not being able to get overall sharp focus wih just the main stripe on the film. It all boils down to what master material the various distibutors had to work with. Print quality came on leaps and bounds in the 1990's, mostly from Derann, so you cant fairly compare now and then. One of the best prints I had in the old days was Deranns 4 reel version of CARRIE.

--------------------
I'm gonna live forever or die trying

Trevor Adams
Jedi Master Film Handler