8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » New to 8mm stuff

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: New to 8mm stuff
Josiah Allen
Junior

- posted December 11, 2009 09:08 PM      Profile for Josiah Allen   Email Josiah Allen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi all! I am new to collecting 8mm film stuff.

I am off to a pretty good start so far. I have a Sankyo Dualux 1000 in perfect working condition (aside form needing a new lamp), a couple of 8mm home movies from the 60s on 400ft reels in the cans I bought from a thrift store, a boxed Kodak Presstape Universal Splicer, a full(?) roll of Kodak white leader in the box and a "Polestar Home Studio" for transferring projection, film slides and photographs to video.

I think I have done well in not paying much for the stuff so far. I paid $1.50 for the projector, $4 for the 2 reels of film, $4 for the splicer with the white leader, and $11 for the transfer box.

I have spotted a couple of Kodak 8mm/Super 8mm projectors around town but the one of two I liked was grossly overpriced for it's current non-working condition. It was a Kodak Ektasound 235 with the manual, priced $30. If it was $5, then maybe I'd get it and try to fix it. I liked the interesting design. If it had worked, I'd have probably paid the $30. It's in an antique store where people rent booths so I can't very well ask if they'll go down on the price.

If I come across a decent priced 16mm projector, I will probably get one of them too.

--------------------
Sankyo Dualax 1000

|  IP: Logged

Brad Kimball
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted December 11, 2009 10:22 PM      Profile for Brad Kimball   Email Brad Kimball   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post