8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » New to film..need a little guidance

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: New to film..need a little guidance
Mike Felling
Film Handler

- posted August 17, 2011 10:51 PM      Profile for Mike Felling     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello all!

Thanks for much for having this place for folks like myself wanting to get into film!

With that being said.. I am totally new to everything film wise. Today I was shopping around our local thrift store, and found what I think was a great buy. A Chinon Sound SP-330 for 4$! It was to cheap for me to pass up, so I bought it. So I get it home and plug it in, and everything seems to be operational besides the lamp. So I take off the front cover and take out the lamp.. and it looks as if the filament is good, it doesn't look broken or anything. Because I have some minor electrical experience, I went ahead and took off the back of the projector to make sure everything looked ok. The first thing I see.. is a fuse wrapped in aluminum foil. I can only assume this is not a good thing. So I take it out.. and sure enough.. the fuse is broken. So I have to get a new 2 amp fuse. No biggie. Knowing someone has been messing around in the unit, I start to wonder if any of the other wires have been moved due to the lamp looking pretty new, and not firing. Here is the rundown. I see that one wire from the lamp socket is connected to a micro switch common plug, while the other lamp socket wire is connected to the 0v terminal on the board. Then there is a wire coming from the NO (normally open) plug from the micro switch to the 12v terminal on the board.