8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Bolex M8 Repair Question

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Bolex M8 Repair Question
Peter O'Grady
Junior

- posted June 17, 2012 12:11 PM      Profile for Peter O'Grady   Email Peter O'Grady   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi All,

This is my first post here. I'm new to the 8mm world. I recently got my hands on a Bolex M8R. It is in need of repair and was wondering if anyone could help. There is a capacitor that is attached to the mains and the motor that needs to be replaced.
If anyone is familiar with this projector could they possible direct me to a replacement?
The values on the cap are 0.2 + 2 x 0.0012 uf. To me it looks like three caps in one (1 x 0.2 uf and 2 x 0.0012 uf caps). I have no idea how these are connected internally.

-

The problem is that the motor is racing. Any advice on getting this beauty back in action would be very much appreciated.

|  IP: Logged

Rob Watson
Junior

- posted June 18, 2012 11:24 AM      Profile for Rob Watson   Email Rob Watson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thats the motor noise suppression capacitor. It is there to stop the motor interfering with other electrical equipment. Its clearly dead. You can replace it with a three lead motor supression capacitor or you can simply disconnect it. It wont make any difference to the projector. I'm not an expert so dont quote me on it, but this looks like a suitable replacement.

http://www.maplin.co.uk/delta-suppression-filter-501