8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Places to get projectors repaired

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Places to get projectors repaired
Joe Maiolo
Junior

- posted March 04, 2013 08:51 PM      Profile for Joe Maiolo     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello all you film masters/gods (or whatever). My name is Joe, I live in the upper part of the lower peninsula of Michigan in the great north woods and I am new to 8mm forum. I'm what you would call a film-rank amateur, because I know absolutely nothing about films or projectors. When I was a young man I worked with my Dad who, back in the 70's, managed a movie house. He used to sell the tickets and I was the guy who stood by the metal stand with a hole in the top, where I would deposit the ticket after I had torn it in half. A person would buy a ticket off my Dad at the box office and come into the theatre where I was standing and hand me the full ticket. I would then palm the full ticket and give the customer a half a ticket that had been sold at some previous date. Then my Dad would take those whole tickets that I had palmed and sell them again and pocket the dough. My cut was an "attaboy" and maybe a free box of popcorn if the film had sold alot of tickets that night. I remember I was my old man's pride and joy when "The Godfather" and "Billy Jack" were playing. My father was a flim flam man extraordinare. I enjoyed sitting up in the projection booth and watching this guy named Leo work the projectors. He was a heavyset guy with eyeglasses and he would eat a bucket of heavily buttered and salted popcorn every night, which he would wash down with a coke in a cup that he brought from his house. A huge cup about the size of a small bucket. His chin was always greasy and his shirt was always stained. He loved to talk about comic books and movies, especially espionage