8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Newbie Question: Does a silent dual (8mm/Super 8) projector with 24 fps exist?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Newbie Question: Does a silent dual (8mm/Super 8) projector with 24 fps exist?
Dan Peterson
Junior

- posted November 22, 2014 01:18 PM      Profile for Dan Peterson   Email Dan Peterson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello everyone!
My first post. [Smile]

To introduce myself: I am a longtime hobbyist still photographer and videographer. My family had a B&H 8mm camera when I was a boy. I still have MOST of those home movies. The equipment was forgotten and given away long ago... (We also had a small editor and Sears projector.)

I now have caught the Super 8 bug, and recently have picked up a Nikon Super Zoom 8, Nikon 8X Super Zoom, and a Nikon R8 Super on eBay. (I've also collected, and sold, 35 mm still cameras over the years...)

I intend to use the Super 8 cameras I've acquired, and I will shoot with them at 24 fps. These days the Tri-X and Agfa reversal films seem to be the only candidates for projection (I will also shoot and scan color negative.) However, I also want to be able to project the old 8mm home movies I already have.
I'm having trouble finding a projector that will support both 8mm and Super 8 at 24 fps (that's the really important part!).
I don't care about sound; silent is fine (and maybe better, since I assume it will keep the cost down).

To get to my question: Any recommendations for a well-built projector that meets these criteria?

Thanks for any help! All advice welcome for this newbie. :-)

|  IP: Logged

Dominique De Bast
Film God

- posted November 22, 2014 01:46 PM      Profile for Dominique De Bast   Email Dominique De Bast   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post