8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » New to projectors have my eye on these two

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: New to projectors have my eye on these two
Jason Keeth
Junior

- posted December 03, 2014 12:48 PM      Profile for Jason Keeth   Email Jason Keeth   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Greetings to the community,

I am new to collecting projectors and film. For my initial experimentation I have stumbled upon an opportunity to buy a Bell & Howell Autoload 8MM, 471A for $35USD and/or a Bell & Howell Autoload 8MM, 462A for $20USD. I see there are modification kits to get that will use MR16 halogen lamps to avoid replacing the expensive DLD-DFZ and DJL projection lamps. Has anyone had any experience with these projectors? Has anyone had any experience with the lamp modification?

I also have seen the price for a feature super 8mm movie to be rather inexpensive which perks my interests with adopting a new hobby.

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

Ebay projector lamp mod

B&H 471A

|  IP: Logged

Janice Glesser
Film Goddess

- posted December 03, 2014 01:16 PM      Profile for Janice Glesser     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Jason... Welcome to the forum.

The guy who makes the conversion module also sells a modification kit with instructions.

http://www.ebay. com/itm/DJL-Projector-Lamp-Replacement-Module-replaces-expensive-DJL-bulb-Lasts-Longer-/251228589630?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3a7e640e3e

The pre-made module is the easiest way to go if you don't want to take the time and do the conversion process yourself. I converted my Sears/B&H projector to the newer halogen bulb...it wasn't difficult.

-

-

[ May 12, 2018, 10:57 PM: Message edited by: Janice Glesser ]

--------------------
Janice

"I'm having a very good day!"
Richard Dreyfuss - Let It Ride (1989).

Jason Keeth
Junior