8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Digital Capture with Sankyo 2000h and Sony a6000

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Digital Capture with Sankyo 2000h and Sony a6000
Steve Snyder
Junior

- posted February 29, 2016 02:58 PM      Profile for Steve Snyder   Email Steve Snyder   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I finally got serious a few months ago to figure out a way to capture my father's miles of super 8mm family movies. At first I was going to use his Elmo fp-c and just project on a wall and capture that. I don't have any great desire to get the very best digital capture that I can. This is mainly to share with my family. I wasn't happy with the quality I was getting with off the wall type capture so I decided a way to capture directly into one of my digital cameras. I am an avid photographer and have a couple of DSLRs and my latest camera is a mirrorless Sony a6000. These things aren't cheap new so I would only do this if you have one laying around already. You can buy a Workprinter XP used for less and have better results. But I didn't want to shell out another $600 so I went with what I had.

After goofing around with some telecine devices, I stumbled across this by accident. What I do is project directly onto the sensor of the digital camera with no mirrors or lenses (other than the projectors lens). The trick to this whole setup is that if you pull the lens out slight past the notch on the lens (I'm sure so you don't pull it out all the way) you can close focus the lens down to a couple of inches. It just so happens I had this m42 converter for old Pentax lens on my new Sony camera. It acts as a great spacer to keep out stray light. I propped the camera up on some books and shimmed it up with until it matches the height exactly. Move the camera around until the image is focused on the the sensor