8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Elmo GS1200 or Elmo 1200HD

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Elmo GS1200 or Elmo 1200HD
David Manning
Junior

- posted December 09, 2018 02:15 PM      Profile for David Manning   Email David Manning   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi there,
I'm looking for some sensible advice please.
I'm looking for a GS1200 to replace one that I sold about 10 years ago.The last 8 years I've been totally 16mm and I now want to splash into 8mm again.
In my collecting life I've had an Elmo 1200HD M and O and two GS1200. I'm not technically minded but appreciate top quality super 8.
I have been bidding on a Elmo GS1200 currently on E-Bay at £795. The projector has had a lot of new parts put in it and been serviced. It has a slight crack in the back.
I've already offered £700 and it's been rejected. I can't afford any more as I'm already £100 over my limit.
Am I potentially buying a load of trouble.
The guy seems 100% genuine but I'm quite fussy and I had an Elmo 1.0 lens last time. As these machines get older they start breaking down like an old car especially if they've had a hard life. Would I be better sticking to getting a nice ST1200HD. I need twin track because I've a lot of sound home movies with music on balance track.
Comments please.

|  IP: Logged

Joe Taffis
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted December 09, 2018 02:40 PM      Profile for Joe Taffis   Email Joe Taffis   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
"Am I potentially buying a load of trouble"

In my opinion, yes!

--------------------
Joe Taffis

Alan Gouger
Master Film Handler

- posted December 09, 2018 02:46 PM      Profile for Alan Gouger     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post