8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 16mm Forum   » B&H 1592 16mm Troubleshooting

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: B&H 1592 16mm Troubleshooting
Adam McCreath
Film Handler

- posted January 23, 2013 06:44 AM      Profile for Adam McCreath     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
the first of many questions to come:

I have a Bell & Howell 1592 16mm projector which I am not happy with. I am having some belt issues (seems to slip off a lot) and I think the timing is screwed up as a result. My first question is: does anyone have a link or scan of a B&H 1592 operation manual they could post or email to me????

Secondly; can anyone tell me what sound system this model has (optical or magnetic)? I have played a film through it but didn't have any sounds. My first insticts would suggest the speaker is toast but I'm just beginning my troubleshoot and trying to figure out exactly what the problem may be.

Any help/tips/advice is appreciated!!!!

|  IP: Logged

Pasquale DAlessio
Film God

- posted January 23, 2013 07:49 AM      Profile for Pasquale DAlessio     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Adam

This is an optical sound projector. There is an "exciter" bulb that reads the sound track on the film. If that is burned out there will not be and sound. They are available on ebay or post a Want Add here on the forum for one if needed. Also, up in the left corner of your screen click on the "manuals" button, scroll way down to "16mm projectors" and you will find a parts and service manual free to d/l.

Good luck!

PatD [Wink]

Lee Mannering
Film God

- posted January 23, 2013 08:51 AM      Profile for Lee Mannering     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post