8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » General Yak   » The Drive-In I Almost Opened.

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: The Drive-In I Almost Opened.
Joe Vannicola
Expert Film Handler

- posted February 11, 2017 12:12 AM      Profile for Joe Vannicola   Email Joe Vannicola   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
When I was about thirty years old, I decided to re-open an abandoned drive-in. I went so far as to speak to the former owner about renting it. I was a manager/operator at a duplex theater at the time and had come to the conclusion that the theater companies were run by tired,old men and that some new blood was needed in the industry. In case you haven't guessed, I was that new blood(ahem!) Oh, to be thirty again!

Anyway, I found that getting a Small Business Mans loan was not as easy as I thought it would be. I actually thought you showed up, asked for the loan and they gave it to you. Boys and girls, can you say naive? Anyhoo, my wonderful drive-in never materialize, but here was another genius idea born from my furtile brain: Instead of renting my films from distribution companies I'd buy 35mm prints from Big Reel ads, show them for a week, then resell them next month in The Big Reel. Positive cash flow!

Does anyone else think this was an great idea or a completely dumb one? Don't worry about hurting my feelings, this was more than 30 years ago. I just curious to know what others thought of my brainstorm. Or was it just a light drizzle instead? lol

--------------------
Joe

|  IP: Logged

Mark Mander
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted February 11, 2017 03:38 AM      Profile for Mark Mander     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Joe,
Your posting on a film forum with film collectors, of course it was a good idea!!