8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Projector advice for beginner / Elmo SP Hi-Deluxe

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Projector advice for beginner / Elmo SP Hi-Deluxe
Ian Mackie
Junior

- posted September 09, 2008 07:41 AM      Profile for Ian Mackie     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello everyone!

I'm just starting to get into 8mm so need a little advice...

I've been offered an Elmo SP Hi-Deluxe projector but as I'm new to 8mm I'm not sure if it is broken, and I have no film to test it with! (getting my camera soon!)

When I fire it up there is very little light coming from the lamp - does this only happen when there is film running through it?? I have the projector on the highest lamp setting.

Is it worth taking a plunge and buying it - as a judging from some of your posts on here, it's not a bad little projector.

Any thoughts / advice much appreciated!!

Best regards,

Ian

|  IP: Logged

Knut Nordahl
Expert Film Handler

- posted September 09, 2008 08:14 AM      Profile for Knut Nordahl   Email Knut Nordahl   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Ian and welcome to the forum. If i remember correct, that machine has got the 1.1 lens that you can use in other ELMO projectors. Nifty. If you get a Elmo GS 800 or better a GS1200 later on you may have a brighter lens there in that De-Luxe for a possible GS800/1200 buy. (It's wise to plan ahed you know ;-)

I think you need to run film through the projector for it to light up. I seem to remember that i won't light up without it. Had a GP once)

It also has a sync option (wich is very rare, but you most likely will never use) and you can sync to 24 fps, dead on. Its a cool projector. My GP was quite noizy though. But bright!.

I say go for it if you are thinking of getting an ELMO GS/ST later and it has the 1.1 lens and it is not to expensive.