8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » PS-1000 Problems

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: PS-1000 Problems
Erik Runge
Junior

- posted March 16, 2019 11:50 PM      Profile for Erik Runge   Email Erik Runge   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello everyone. First post and I am a complete novice when it comes to projectors. I've bought about 5 in the last few years, only to find they're inoperable and not salvageable. I've come to realize that what I was looking for, a super-8 projector WITH sound, was hard to find at a reasonable price.

I picked up a Canon PS-1000 recently, hoping it'd work, finding out that not only did it not, but the main belt inside was completely missing. I found a seller for a replacement belt (http://van-eck.net). I managed to disassemble just enough of the inerts to get the belt on the main drive wheel. I wound the belt around and got it all spinning up great. I was thrilled. I put in one of my reels and started to play. It did play and it did have sound, but about every half second, the display would slow down making the picture streak up the screen.

See pictures/videos here: https://imgur.com/a/C9yRDo5

I tried multiple films of varying length but still see the same effect.

So my questions: Does anyone know what might be causing the issue and how to fix it? I know the inside is dirty, but I don't know how to start cleaning it properly - is there a good (easy) way to clean the inside (without disassembly)?

Thanks in advance!

|  IP: Logged

Leon Norris
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted March 17, 2019 09:42 AM      Profile for Leon Norris   Email Leon Norris   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Erik, what happens when you press down the loop former? This machine is a slot load! I used to have one and I had no problems!It was a nice machine! Let me know! Leon.

Janice Glesser