8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » Chinon 330 & small 2.75" reels

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Chinon 330 & small 2.75" reels
Robert Covington
Junior

- posted August 11, 2016 09:39 AM      Profile for Robert Covington   Email Robert Covington   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello all. I'm new to all this movie stuff. I've never owned a projector or any reels. However, that changed over the weekend. My eccentric cousin died last week and his widow gave me a medium size box full of different size movie reels. Most of it looks to be the smaller 2 3/4" super 8mm reels (with about a 3/8s inner diameter that should fit on the projector.

I was also given a Chinon sp 330 projector that seems to work fine and the light works. That being said, the projector doesn't seem to fit the smaller reels. The projector seems to only fit the larger reels with 1/2" inner diameter. Is there something I can do to get the smaller reels to work on the Chinon without having to buy a different projector?
thanks

|  IP: Logged

Maurice Leakey
Film God

- posted August 11, 2016 10:21 AM      Profile for Maurice Leakey   Email Maurice Leakey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Robert
The Chinon SP330 is a Super 8 sound projector and the Super 8 spools have an inner core of 12mm (around half an inch.)
You also have standard (regular) 8 spools, these have an inner core of 8mm (about three-eights on an inch).
If the latter spools contain standard (regular) 8 film then they cannot be used on the projector.
Whilst both films are 8mm wide they differ greatly by the size of their perforations.
See the attachment below.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_8_film

[ August 11, 2016, 02:16 PM: Message edited by: Maurice Leakey ]

--------------------
Maurice

Robert Covington
Junior