8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » How to avoid being taken for a mug?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: How to avoid being taken for a mug?
Sam James
Expert Film Handler

- posted October 14, 2005 01:23 PM      Profile for Sam James   Email Sam James   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello all.
I'm new to this but must start by saying thanks for posting such a wealth of information and opinion. At the risk of re-igniting the "which projector is best?" argument, it seems that the machine of choice would be a 3rd generation GS-1200 and that's what I'm trying to convince myself, my girlfriend and my bank manager to hunt down and buy.
Is e-bay the only way to find one, given that the winning bids seem to vary from half-decent to just plain silly money without, apparently, a huge variation in model/condition? If so, and here's the rub, how do I avoid being stitched up? I don't want a "bargain" but neither do I want to be made a monkey of.
Sam.

|  IP: Logged

Kurt Gardner
Expert Film Handler

- posted October 14, 2005 01:59 PM      Profile for Kurt Gardner   Author's Homepage   Email Kurt Gardner   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I used eBay to acquire my GS-800, but I always planned to put an additional couple hundred bucks into having it professionally refurbished. You'll pay more if you buy from a dealer, but you can be more sure of getting a recently-maintained machine. On eBay, who knows? I'd check with Derann, Classic Home Cinema, BFCC to see if they have what you want. So even if you win a GS1200 on eBay for 250 quid, you may still have to throw in another 100 more for cleanup.

Alan Rik
Film God

- posted October 14, 2005 02:23 PM      Profile for Alan Rik   Email Alan Rik   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post