8mm Forum

my profile | my password | search | faq | register | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» 8mm Forum   » 8mm Forum   » A Super Evening

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: A Super Evening
Graham Ritchie
Film God

- posted August 13, 2006 10:31 PM      Profile for Graham Ritchie   Email Graham Ritchie   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
After reading some very interesting posts lately,it prompted me to run some film the other night. I started with a 800ft reel of extracts from Fantasia starting with the trl, Soundtrack demo, Pastoral Symphony, Dance of the Hours, and finishing with The Sorcerer's Apprentice. I enjoyed it that much I ran it a few more times, although I have been mucking around with super 8 for a few years now, I am still amazed over the quality that can be achieved from that small frame, my second 800ft reel The Grasshopper and the Ants 1934, The Last Battleship, Tom and Jerry Tee for Two, Disney Motor Mania, and finishing with a very interesting short Romney Hythe and Dymchurch railway. One thing I have been doing is adding the Mr Bean intro the do's and dont's of visiting the cinema at the start of a film programme, I removed it from begining of Spirit Of America,a 200 footer Derann released a few years ago. I finished the evening with some films I bought back in the 70s Mickey Mouse The First Fifty Years silver addition, slightly faded but you would hardly notice it, Evening with Lady and the Tramp a beautiful extract, and finishing the night with one of my all time favourite The Dwarfs Dilemma, still with exellent colour after all those years well that was my night at the movies. two other exellent extracts from Fantasia worth getting from Derann are The Nutcracker Suite, and Night on Bald Mountain, well this post is not meant to be a film review just a ramble as to what I watched the other night, and I hope to read what you like to watch when your wintry nights set in and the project